Post-season

So, where’ve you been, JP?

Is probably what my reader has been wondering. After all, it’s been two and a half months since I’ve posted here. And it’s not like I haven’t been posting on the Mets Refugees Message Board

The truth is I:
moved to New Orleans,
got extremely busy with a new job
only occasionally had time to post online about the Mets
and that was replying to a topic someone else brought up on the aforementioned the Mets Refugees Message Board.

Since I’ve been gone, a lot’s happened and I probably don’t have anything to say that you haven’t already read. Like other Met fans, I’m distraught we lost.

Unlike most people, I wonder why the Cardinals only won 83 regular season games. After all, this isn’t some "bad" team who somehow put together a good run in the post-season after winning a bad division.

This was a team that won 100 and made the World Series two years ago; won 105 last year; had the reigning Cy Young and MVP on the team; Has six former all-stars in the lineup (Rolen, Pujols, Edmonds, Eckstein, Wilson, Belliard); Has arguably the best defensive player in the league at four positions (1B, 3B, C, CF); and was the preseason favorite to win the NL by the majority of baseball writers (more than the Mets, Dodgers or Padres combined).

I’m sure I’ll talk more about the offseason all offseason; and also talk about the loss to the Cards in the NLCS. But for now, I’ll just give the Cards their props.

One comment

Leave a Reply

